Mind Map Reflection

When I started out doing my mind map I thought I would have an empty sheet of paper, but once completing it I realized all of the resources I actually use and that there are more than I first realized. Some of these are used for personal, some for educational and some are for my work environment. These resources have completely transformed the way that I learn new information and how I answer questions my students come to me with. In the past I would have to research the information, then use the trial and error method to see if I found the appropriate solution for my specific problem. Since I have started using an online forum system that is specific to my career and/or my education field I can monitor the previous posts or ask for responses from those who are doing the same thing that I am. This helps eliminate the trial and error method, because many times they have already tried the various solutions and found one that works best for our situation. This helps me to answer questions in a much quicker way than if I were to slowly sort through the information that is a possible solution for my question.

Since I am a very visual person I have learned that I learn best by using sources that provide step-by-step visual processes that I can see. I frequently turn to Pinterest when looking for activities to complete with my students and ways to involve them in the learning process. I can sort to find the information that I am interested in and quickly look through the photos of the final products so that I can see what looks interesting. Once I have determined a project is something they might like I can then check out the process to complete it.  When looking for learning opportunities that best facilitate learning for me are ones that I can specifically sort by the category of item I am researching.

Since connectivism is a learning theory for the digital age and many of my learning resources are specifically suited to this type of learning environment. With this being said I think that my personal learning network supports a theory of connectivism. As I learn of more resources I can only see my resource group growing and continue to support this theory.

Leave a comment